Seventy-two Jones College student-athletes have been recognized for academic excellence for the 2018-19 school year.

The Bobcat football team was selected the NJCAA Football Academic Team of the Year with a 3.14 GPA — the highest GPA for any NJCAA football team in the past year.

The Lady Bobcat soccer team had a 3.48 GPA — the highest in the MACJC and fifth in the nation. The Jones women’s tennis team had a 3.72 GPA, which was third in the state and in the nation. The men’s tennis team had a 3.14 GPA, which was fourth in the MACJC and 13th nationally. The Lady Bobcat softball team also had a 3.14 GPA.

Receiving Distinguished Academic All-MACJC (3.8 GPA or higher) honors were baseball players Payton Harris, Trace Henry, Gabe Lacy, Robbie Woody, Easton Rainer, Steven Sasser, Brady Green and Blake Johnson; softball players Raylen Blackwell, Gracie McCleskey, Rebekah Dilavore and Lauren Stringer; men’s basketball player Kenneth Rogers; women’s tennis players Kaitlyn Craig, Dixie Lei Hodges, Ariadna Jordan and Mireia Jordan; men’s tennis players Conner Henderson, James McWilliams and Jordi Morey; women’s soccer players Zakiah Almatrood, Araceli Figueroa, Erica Gaddie, Anna Grace Gieger, Mary Ann O’Kennedy and Olivia Simpson; and football players Lakevias Daniel and JD Rutherford.

Being chosen Academic All-MACJC (3.25 GPA or higher) were baseball players, DJ Alexander, Cooper Brune, Chance Forbes and Jake Mason; softball Raven Blackwell, Hallie Donald, Carlee Nations, Jana Nations, Mollie Singleterry and LP Trammell; women’s basketball players Destiny Haymer, Endia Holliday, Lekera Hughes, LaMiracle Sims and Kyia Weathersby; women’s tennis players Sarrah Der-Ballout, Judith Mills and Danielle Viljoen; men’s tennis players Cody Courtney and Jacob Johnson; women’s soccer players Rachel Barnaby, Lucy Critchell, Esmeralda Figueroa, Allie James, Heather Sullivan and Alexis Wilson; men’s soccer players Larry Gibson, Nick Gibson, Jonny Lorenzo, Lucas Middleton, Adrian Mondragon, Dalton Morgan, Brant Mullins and Samuel Williamson; football Nick Anderson, Fred Barnum, Immanuel Jones, Brodie King, Charlie Marlowe, Dontavious Porter, Fred Smith, Myron Stewart, Cristofer Thompson and Nataurean Watts.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.