Thursday, September 19, 2019

Dempsey Dase, 66, of Heidelberg died Friday, Aug. 9, 2019 at Asbury House Hospice in Hattiesburg. A memorial service was last Saturday at the Beaver Meadow Community Center in Heidelberg. Brown Mortuary Inc. was in charge of the arrangements.

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

Eugene Keyes, 77, of Taylorsville died on Sept.11, 2019 at his home. Services will be Saturday, Sept. 21, at 11 a.m. at Dry Ridge Baptist Church in Mize. Visitation will be from 9-11 a.m. at the church. Burial will be in Dry Ridge Cemetery. Young's Funeral Home is in charge of the arrangements.

Monday, September 16, 2019

Denise Pierce passed away on Sept. 9, 2019 at Novant Hospital in Charlotte, N.C. Graveside services will be Friday, Sept. 20, at Nora Davis Cemetery at 11a.m. Chapel of Angels Funeral Home is in charge of the arrangements. View and online guestbook at www.ChapelOfAngelsFH.net.

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

Olevia D. Walker, 82, of Heidelberg died Sunday, Sept. 8, at her residence. Funeral services will be Saturday, Sept. 14, at 1 p.m. at Shady Grove M.B. Church in Heidelberg with burial in the church cemetery. Visitation will be 11 a.m. until service time Saturday at the church. Brown Mortuary…

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Paul G. Knight, 69, of Soso died on Sept. 5, 2019 at his home. Services will be Thursday, Sept. 12, at 2 p.m. at Mount Pleasant Baptist Church in Soso. Visitation is from 1-2 p.m. at the church. Burial will be in Mount Pleasant Cemetery. Young's Funeral Home is in charge of the arrangements.

Dameco C. “Bunkie” Pruitt, 32, of Laurel died on Sept. 6, 2019. Service will be Saturday, Sept. 14, at 2 p.m. at Koinonia Baptist Church in Laurel. Visitation is from 1-2 p.m. at the church. Burial will be in Royal Valley Baptist Church in Soso. Young's Funeral Home is in charge of the arran…

Tuesday, September 03, 2019

James Handy Keys, 82, of Laurel died Sept. 1, 2019 at Forrest General Hospital in Hattiesburg. Services will be is Saturday, Sept. 7, at 11a.m. at Sun Light Baptist Church in Laurel. Visitation is from 10-11 a.m. at the church. Burial will be in Sun Light  Baptist Church Cemetery. Young's Fu…

Monday, September 02, 2019

Brenna Grace Clark, 15, of Laurel passed away Friday, Aug., 30, 2019. Visitation was Sunday. The  funeral will be Monday, Sept. 2, at 10 a.m. at Temple Baptist Church with burial to follow in Spring Hill Baptist Church Cemetery. Brother Cliff Jenkins will officiate. Colonial Chapel Funeral H…

Friday, August 30, 2019

Justin R. Mack, 26, of Laurel died Tuesday, Aug. 27, in Waynesboro. Funeral services will be Saturday, Aug. 31, at Sunlight M.B. Church in the Hoy community, with burial in Nora Davis cemetery. Visitation will be 1 p.m. until service time. Brown Mortuary Inc. is in charge of the arrangements.

Wednesday, August 28, 2019

Glenda Jean Marsh, 71, of Ellisville died Friday, Aug. 23, 2019 at University Hospital in Jackson. Funeral services will be at 2 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 31, at Spring Hill Missionary Baptist Church in Ellisville. Burial will be in Dubose Street Cemetery in Ellisville. Viewing will be held from 1…

Tuesday, August 27, 2019

Ms. Eddie Lee Edmonson, 89, of Laurel died Sunday, Aug. 25, 2019 at Mississippi State Veterans Home in Collins. Funeral service will be Saturday, Aug. 31, at 11 a.m. at Mount Olive M.B. Church with burial in Oak Hill No. 2 Cemetery. Visitation will be from 10:00 a.m. until service time at th…

Amos J. Edwards, 81, of Pachuta died Friday, Aug. 23, 2019 at his residence. Funeral services will be Friday, Aug. 30, at 11 a.m. at East Baptist Church in Pachuta with burial in the church cemetery. Visitation will be Thursday from 6-8 p.m. at the church. Brown Mortuary Inc. is in charge of…

Friday, August 23, 2019

Tasha A. Ross, 38, of Louin died at her residence on Tuesday, Aug. 20, 2019. Visitation will be 6-8 p.m. Wednesday at Jerusalem M.B. Church in Louin and the funeral will be at 2 p.m. Thursday at the church, followed by burial in the church cemetery. Rev. Harley Ray Milsap will officiate. Bay…

Thursday, August 22, 2019

Debsie Wilson, 72, of Taylorsville died on Aug. 21, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center in Laurel. Graveside service will be Saturday, Aug. 24, at 10 a.m. at Pine Valley M. B. Church in Taylorsville. Burial will be in Pine Valley Cemetery. Young's Funeral Home is in charge of the a…

Tuesday, August 20, 2019

Bernice Houston, 91, of Laurel died Monday, Aug. 19, 2019 at her residence. Funeral services will be Saturday, Aug. 24, at 11 a.m. at Queens Chapel M.B. Church with burial in Oak Hill No. 2 cemetery. Visitation will be from 10 a.m. until service time at the church. Brown Mortuary, Inc. is in…

Christine Rogers, 89, of Laurel died Wednesday, Aug. 14, 2019 at St. Dominic Hospital in Jackson. Funeral services will be Saturday, Aug. 24, at 2 p.m. at The Church of Christian Unity with burial in Oak Hill No. 2 cemetery. Visitation will be 1 p.m. until service time at the church. Brown M…

Monday, August 19, 2019

Willie Mae Jordan, 60, of Laurel died Monday, Aug.12, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center in Laurel. Funeral services were Sunday  in the chapel of Brown Mortuary with burial in McCullum cemetery in the Benson Community.Brown Mortuary, Inc. is in charge of the arrangements.

Willie Ray Clanton, 69, of Ellisville died on Aug. 13, 2019 in Laurel. Services will be Saturday, Aug. 24, at 2 p.m. at Mount Pleasant M.B. Church in Sanderville. Visitation will be from noon to 2 p.m. at the church with burial in Oak Hill No. 2. Young's Funeral Home is in charge of the arra…

Thursday, August 15, 2019

Timothy Ladale Hatten, 37, of Taylorsville died on Aug. 12, 2019 at Forrest General Hospital in Hattiesburg. Service will be Saturday, Aug. 17, at 11 a.m. at Oak Grove M. B. Church in Taylorsville. Visitation is from 10-11 a.m. at the church. Burial will be in Oak Grove Cemetery. Young's Fun…

Phillip Cooley Sr., 66, of Laurel died Tuesday, Aug. 6, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center in Laurel. Funeral services will be Saturday, Aug. 17, at 2 p.m. at Sweet Hope M.B. Church in Laurel with burial in Oak Hill No. 2 cemetery. Visitation will be from noon until service time S…

Melanie Elise Odom, 41, of Bay Springs passed away Wednesday, Aug.14, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center. Visitation will be Friday, Aug. 16, from 5-8 p.m. at Colonial Chapel Funeral Home of Bay Springs and again on Saturday from 9-11 a.m. at First Baptist Church of Bay Springs. F…

Tuesday, August 13, 2019

Mrs. Geneva J. Herring passed from this life on Monday, Aug. 12, 2019. She was born Nov. 5, 1931 in Smith County. A graveside service and internment will be at Hickory Grove Cemetery in Laurel at 10 a.m. Thursday. Ellisville Funeral Home is in charge of the arrangements. Minister Shannon Slo…

Friday, August 09, 2019

Little Zyion Malik Thigpen, infant, born July 12, 2019 died Aug. 6, 2019 at Forrest General Hospital in Hattiesburg. Funeral services will be Sunday at 11 a.m. in the chapel of Brown Mortuary with burial in Oak Hill No. 2 cemetery. Brown Mortuary, Inc. is in charge of the arrangements.

Thursday, August 08, 2019

Willie Eugene Willis, 90, of Marrero, La., died Saturday, Aug. 3, 2019 at his residence. Funeral services will be Saturday, Aug. 10, at 11 a.m. at John the Baptist M.B. Church in Pachuta with burial in the church cemetery. Visitation will be 9:30 a.m. until service time at the church. Brown …

Cindy Ann Cole, 48, of Laurel, died Tuesday, Aug. 6, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center. Funeral services will be at 2 p.m. Saturday, Aug.10, at Wesley Chapel United Methodist Church. Burial will be in Nora Davis Cemetery.Viewing will be from 1-2 p.m. Saturday at the church. Chape…

George Lee Hosey Jr., 42, of Laurel died Sunday July, 28 2019 at his residence. Funeral services will be Saturday, Aug.10, at 2 p.m. at Christ's Church with burial in Oak Hill No. 2 cemetery. Visitation will be noon until service time at the church. Brown Mortuary Inc. is in charge of the ar…

Sunday, August 04, 2019

Exel Aultman, 87, of Jones County passed away Friday, Aug., 2, 2019 at the Lamar Health and Rehab in Lumberton. She was born Monday, March 14, 1932 in Jones County. Visitation will be Monday, Aug. 5, from 10-11:30 a.m. at Ellisville Funeral Home in Ellisville with funeral services to follow …

Tuesday, July 30, 2019

Larry Glenn Harkless, 63, of Mobile, Ala., and formerly of Laurel, died Saturday, July 27, 2019 in Mobile. Funeral services will be at 2 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 3, at Second Allen AME Church in Laurel. Burial will be in Oak Hill No. 2 Cemetery in Laurel. Visitation will be from 6-8 p.m. Friday a…

Wednesday, July 24, 2019

Mr. Dan Heidelberg of Laurel passed away on Thursday, July 18, 2019. Funeral services will be at Providence Baptist Church on Saturday, July 27, at 2 p.m. Interment will immediately follow in Nora Davis Cemetery. A wake will be Friday at Chapel of Angels Funeral Home from 7-9 p.m. Chapel of …

Mr. Marvin M. Rhodes Sr., of Ellisville passed away on Monday, July 22, 2019, at South Central Regional Medical Center. Funeral services will be at Christian Valley Baptist Church on Saturday, July 27, at 2 p.m. Interment will immediately follow in Oak Hill No. 2 Cemetery. Visitation will be…

Thursday, July 11, 2019

Roy Eugene Young, 80, of Laurel died Thursday, July 11, 2019 at Jones County Rest Home in Ellisville. Graveside services will be Friday, July 12, at 3 p.m. at Woodlawn Cemetery and the burial will follow. Brother Kenny Morris will officiate. Ellisville Funeral Home is in charge of the arrangements.

Tuesday, July 09, 2019

Susie L. Shelby, 92, of Taylorsville died on July 5, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center in Laurel. Funeral services will be Friday, July 12, at 11 a.m. at Old Palestine M.B. Church in Taylorsvile. Visitation will be from 10-11 a.m. at the church. Burial will be in Old Palestine Ce…

David L. Carr, 61, of Collins died on July 8, 2019 at  his home. Services will be Saturday, July 13, at 11 a.m. at Old Hopewell M. B. Church in Collins. Visitation will be from 10-11 a.m. at the church. Burial will be in Old Hopewell Cemetery. Young's Funeral Home is in charge of the arrangements.

Minnie Mae McLaurine, 75,of Raleigh died on July 5, 2019 at Care Center in Raleigh. Services will be Saturday, July 13, at 2 p.m. at Dry Ridge Church in Raleigh. Visitationwill be Friday from 6-8 p.m. at Young's Funeral Home Chapel in Taylorsville. Burial will be in Dry Ridge Cemetery. Young…

Friday, July 05, 2019

Henry E. Thompson, 91, of Laurel, died Wednesday, July 3, 2019 at his residence in Laurel. Visitation will be Saturday, July 6, from 9:30-11 a.m. at Colonial Chapel Funeral Home of Laurel. Funeral services will be at 11 at the funeral home of Laurel and burial will follow in Sunset Gardens C…

John Cox Jr., 89, of Laurel died Monday, July 1, 2019 at his residence. Funeral services will be Saturday at 11 a.m. at West Pleasant Grove M.B. Church with burial in the church cemetery. Visitation will be 6-8 p.m. Friday in the chapel of Brown Mortuary. Brown Mortuary Inc. is in charge of …

Ruth R. Moffett, 85, of Taylorsville died on July 1, 2019 at her home. Services will be Saturday, July 6, at 1 p.m. at Pine Valley M. B. Church in Taylorsville.Visitation is from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the church. Burial will be in Pine Valley Cemetery. Young's Funeral Home is in charge of the…

Tommie Lee Allen, 80, of Laurel died Thursday, June 27, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center in Laurel. Funeral services will be Saturday at 2 p.m. at Queen's Chapel M.B. Church with burial in Oak Hill No. 2 Cemetery. Visitation will be 6-8 p.m. Friday at the church. Brown Mortuary …

Tuesday, June 18, 2019

Linda M. Phillips Rogers, 62, of Ellisville died Saturday, June 15, 2019 at Forrest General Hospital in Hattiesburg. Funeral services will be Friday at 2 p.m. in the chapel of Brown Mortuary with burial in Ellisville City Cemetery. Visitation will be from 1 p.m. until service time. Brown Mor…

Sarah L. Holder, 39, of Laurel died June 11, 2019 at her residence. Funeral services will be Wednesday, June 19, at 2 p.m. at Mount Aid M.B. Church in Ellisville with burial in Benson cemetery. Visitation will be from noon until service time at the church. Brown Mortuary Inc. is in charge of…

Monday, June 17, 2019

Funeral services will be at 7 p.m. on Thursday, June 20, at the Billy M. King-Colonial Chapel Funeral Home in Collins for Johnnie Vee Sanford Lowery, 80, of Seminary, who passed away on Sunday, June 16, 2019. Rev. Roy Craft and Rev. Ronnie Sanford will officiate. Interment will be Friday  at…

Friday, June 14, 2019

Bertha Louise Graves, 58, of Taylorsville died Wednesday, June 12, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center. Funeral services will be at 11 a.m. Tuesday, June 18, at Old Palestine Missionary Baptist Church in Taylorsville (Hebron). Burial will be in the church cemetery. Services of reme…

Martha Hosey, 86, of Laurel died Tuesday June 4, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center in Laurel. Funeral services will be Saturday, June 15, at 11 a.m. at St. Elmo M.B. Church with burial in Oak Hill No. 2 cemetery. Visitation will be 9 a.m. until service time at the church. Brown M…

Wilma Fortenberry, 91, of Collins died Tuesday June 11, 2019 at Forrest General Hospital in Hattiesburg. Funeral services will be Saturday, June 15, at 2:30 p.m. at Old Palestine M.B. Church in Taylorsville with burial in the church cemetery. Visitation will be 1 p.m. until service time at t…

Monday, June 10, 2019

Lakindria T. Pruitt, 36, of Ellisville died Thursday June 6, 2019 at Forrest General Hospital in Hattiesburg.Funeral services will be Wednesday at 2 p.m. at New Hope M.B. Church in the Currie Community with burial in the church cemetery. Visitation will be from noon until service time at the…

Wednesday, June 05, 2019

Latoris Vondale Cooley Jr., 17, of Laurel, died Tuesday, May 28, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center. Funeral services will be at 3 p.m. Saturday, June 8, at United Missionary Baptist Church in Laurel. Burial will be in St. Peter’s Baptist Church Cemetery in Vossburg. Viewing will …

Minister Michael Antonio Gates, 49, of Laurel, died Saturday, June 1, 2019 at Merit Health Wesley Hospital in Hattiesburg. Funeral services will be at 11 a.m. Saturday, June 8, at Christian Valley Baptist Church in Laurel. Burial will be in Oak Hill No. 2 Cemetery. Viewing will be from 10-11…

Wednesday, May 29, 2019

Lessie Katie Gavin, 99, of Heidelberg died in Hattiesburg on Saturday, May 25, 2019. The funeral will be at 2 p.m. Saturday at Oak Bowery United Methodist Church in Heidelberg followed by burial in the church cemetery. Visitation will be 1-2 p.m. at the church before the service. Bay Springs…

Little Miss Dylan Denise Gray, 3, of Quitman died Saturday, May 25, 2019 at H. C. Watkins Memorial Hospital in Quitman. Funeral services will be Saturday, June 1, at 11 a.m. at Triumph the Church of God in Christ in Vossburg with burial in the church cemetery. Visitation will be at 9 a.m. un…

Thursday, May 23, 2019

Lucile Jordan Blakely, 83, of Laurel died Friday, May 17, 2019 at her residence. Funeral services will be Saturday, May 25, at 11 a.m. at St. Elmo M.B. Church with burial in Oak Hill No. 2 cemetery. Visitation will be from 9-11 a.m. at the church. Brown Mortuary Inc. is in charge of the arra…