Friday, November 15, 2019

Kyle Hurshel Hathorn, 56, of Ellisville died Thursday, Nov. 14, 2019 at Forrest General Hospital in Hattiesburg. Visitation will be Saturday, Nov. 16, from 5-8 p.m. at Ellisville Funeral Home. Funeral services will be Sunday at 2 p.m. at the funeral home. Burial will follow in Sharon Cemeter…

Wednesday, November 13, 2019

Mrs. June Griffin Vanderson, 94, of Ellisville died Saturday, Nov. 9, 2019 at her residence. Funeral services will be at 12:01 p.m. Friday, Nov. 15, at Solid Rock Missionary Baptist Church in Laurel. Burial will be in Memorial Gardens of Laurel. Viewing will be from 11 a.m. until service tim…

Monday, November 11, 2019

Perry Lee Jackson, 77, of Jackson died at St. Dominic Hospital in Jackson on Tuesday, Nov. 5. 2019. The funeral will be at 11 a.m. Saturday, Nov. 16 at Union Baptist Church in Heidelberg followed by burial in the church cemetery. Rev. Kirk Keller will officiate. Visitation will be 10:30-11 a…

Tuesday, November 05, 2019

Andrew Trotter, 57, of Monroe, La., formerly of Heidelberg, died Sunday, Nov. 3, 2019 at St. Francis Medical Center in Monroe. Funeral services will be Saturday, Nov. 9, at 11 a.m. at Shady Grove M.B. church in Heidelberg with burial in the church cemetery. Visitation will be 6-8 p.m. Friday…

Miss Gladys Austin, 92, of Laurel died Saturday, Nov. 2, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center in Laurel. Funeral services will be Saturday, Nov. 9, at 2 p.m. at St. Paul United Methodist Church with burial in Nora Davis Cemetery. Visitation will be 1 p.m. until service time at the c…

Monday, November 04, 2019

Donah Elaine Taylor, 66, of Laurel died Friday, Nov. 1, 2019 at Baptist Memorial Hospital in Jackson. Funeral services will be at 2 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 9,at Sunlight Missionary Baptist Church in Laurel. Burial will be in Sunlight Missionary Baptist Church Cemetery. Viewing will be from 12:01…

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Floyd Porter, 66, of Laurel died Monday Oct. 28, 2019 at Forrest General Hospital in Hattiesburg. Funeral services will be Saturday Nov. 2, at 2 p.m. at Mount Pleasant M.B church in Sandersville with burial in Mount Bethel Cemetery in Soso. Visitation will be Friday from 6-8 p.m. in the chap…

Wednesday, October 23, 2019

Alexander Tige Henderson, 47, of Laurel died Saturday, Oct. 19, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center. Funeral services will be at 2 p.m. Saturday in the chapel of Chapel of Angels Funeral Home. Burial will be in Oak Hill No. 2 Cemetery. Viewing will be from 1-2 p.m. Saturday in the …

Monday, October 21, 2019

Samuel Terrell “Terry” Rowell, 70, of Heidelberg passed away Oct. 12, 2019 in Banner Elk, N.C. A memorial service will be Nov, 30 at Heidelberg United Methodist Church. The family asks donations to me made in Terry’s memory to the A-Club Educational and Charitable Foundation, 1830 4th St., T…

Wednesday, October 16, 2019

Debra Rena Woodfork, 57, of Laurel died Sunday, Oct. 13, 2019 at Merit Health Wesley in Hattiesburg. Funeral services will be at 10 a.m. Saturday, Oct. 19, at Pleasant Valley Missionary Baptist Church in Laurel. Burial will be in Springhill Cemetery in Union. Viewing will be from 8-10 a.m. S…

Ellen M. Horne, 66, of  Vossburg  died Thursday, Oct. 10, 2019 at Care Center in Laurel. Funeral service will be Saturday, Oct. 19, at 2 p.m. at John the Baptist M.B. Church in Pachuta with burial in the church cemetery. Visitation will be at noon until service time at the church. Brown Mort…

Melvin Brown, 73, of Sandusky, Ohio, formerly of Laurel, died Sunday, Oct. 6, 2019 at Providence Care Center in Sandusky. Funeral service will be Saturday, Oct. 19, at 11 a.m. at Mount Pleasant M.B. Church in Sandersville with burial in Mount Olive cemetery. Visitation will be 10 a.m. until …

Tuesday, October 15, 2019

Mary B. Newsome Thompson passed away on Tuesday, Oct. 8, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center. Visitation will be Friday, Oct. 18, 2019, from 7-9 p.m. at Chapel of Angels Funeral Home. Funeral services will be at Christ's Church on Saturday at 2 p.m. Interment will be immediately fo…

Mrs. Twylla McGill Ball passed away on Saturday, Oct. 12, 2019 at South Central Medical Center.  Funeral services will be at 2 p.m., Friday at Christian Valley Baptist Church. Interment will be immediately following in Oak Hill No. 2 Cemetery. Visitation will be from 12:01-2 p.m. on Friday a…

Ronnie L. Brogdon, 70, of Collins died on Oct. 13, 2019 in Laurel. Services will be Wednesday, Oct. 16, from 5-8 p.m. at Young's Funeral Home Chapel in Taylorsville, which is in charge of the arrangements.

Tuesday, October 08, 2019

Willie Richardson, 98, of Laurel died Thursday, Oct. 3, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center in Laurel. Funeral service will be Saturday, Oct. 12, at 11 a.m. at Mallalieu United Methodist Church in Laurel with burial in Mount Zion Cemetery in Newton. Visitation will be Friday from 2…

J. C. Terrell, 71, of Heidelberg died Wednesday, Oct. 2, 2019 at his residence. Funeral services will be at 2 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 12, at St. Peters Baptist Church, Vossburg. Burial will be in St. Peters Cemetery in Vossburg. Viewing will be from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the church. Chapel of Ang…

Wednesday, October 02, 2019

Deborah Jo' Turner Smith, 62, of Huntsville, Ala., formerly of Laurel, died Sunday, Sept. 29, at her residence. Funeral services will be Saturday, Oct. 5, at 11 a.m. at Mount Pleasant M.B. Church in Soso with burial in The Soso Seventh-day Adventist cemetery. Visitation will be from 10 a.m. …

Tuesday, October 01, 2019

Atlean M. Hillyard, 71, of Laurel, died Monday, Sept. 23, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center in Laurel. Funeral services will be Thursday, Oct. 3, at 11 a.m. at John the Baptist M.B. Church in Pachuta, with burial in the church cemetery. Visitation will be Wednesday from 6-8 p.m. …

Charlie H. Brown, 83, of Raleigh died on Sept. 25, 2019 at his home. Services will be Wednesday, Oct. 2, at 2 p.m. at Smith County multi-purpose building in Raleigh. Visitation is from 11 a.m.  to 1 p.m. at the center. Burial will be in Mount Pisgah Cemetery. Young's Funeral Home is in charg…

Bishop Bilbo Cooley passed away on Sunday, Sept. 29, 2019, at South Central Regional Medical Center. Funeral services will be Saturday, Oct. 5, at Mount Pleasant Missionary Baptist Church in Sandersville at 2 p.m. Visitation will be Saturday from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the church. Interment wi…

Monday, September 23, 2019

June Colleen Howze, 83, of Laurel died Sunday, Sept. 22, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center in Laurel. Visitation will be Tuesday, Sept. 24, from 5-8 p.m. at Colonial Chapel Funeral Home of Laurel. The funeral will be Wednesday at 2 p.m. at Colonial Chapel Funeral Home of Laurel a…

Thursday, September 19, 2019

Dempsey Dase, 66, of Heidelberg died Friday, Aug. 9, 2019 at Asbury House Hospice in Hattiesburg. A memorial service was last Saturday at the Beaver Meadow Community Center in Heidelberg. Brown Mortuary Inc. was in charge of the arrangements.

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

Eugene Keyes, 77, of Taylorsville died on Sept.11, 2019 at his home. Services will be Saturday, Sept. 21, at 11 a.m. at Dry Ridge Baptist Church in Mize. Visitation will be from 9-11 a.m. at the church. Burial will be in Dry Ridge Cemetery. Young's Funeral Home is in charge of the arrangements.

Monday, September 16, 2019

Denise Pierce passed away on Sept. 9, 2019 at Novant Hospital in Charlotte, N.C. Graveside services will be Friday, Sept. 20, at Nora Davis Cemetery at 11a.m. Chapel of Angels Funeral Home is in charge of the arrangements. View and online guestbook at www.ChapelOfAngelsFH.net.

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

Olevia D. Walker, 82, of Heidelberg died Sunday, Sept. 8, at her residence. Funeral services will be Saturday, Sept. 14, at 1 p.m. at Shady Grove M.B. Church in Heidelberg with burial in the church cemetery. Visitation will be 11 a.m. until service time Saturday at the church. Brown Mortuary…

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Paul G. Knight, 69, of Soso died on Sept. 5, 2019 at his home. Services will be Thursday, Sept. 12, at 2 p.m. at Mount Pleasant Baptist Church in Soso. Visitation is from 1-2 p.m. at the church. Burial will be in Mount Pleasant Cemetery. Young's Funeral Home is in charge of the arrangements.

Dameco C. “Bunkie” Pruitt, 32, of Laurel died on Sept. 6, 2019. Service will be Saturday, Sept. 14, at 2 p.m. at Koinonia Baptist Church in Laurel. Visitation is from 1-2 p.m. at the church. Burial will be in Royal Valley Baptist Church in Soso. Young's Funeral Home is in charge of the arran…

Tuesday, September 03, 2019

James Handy Keys, 82, of Laurel died Sept. 1, 2019 at Forrest General Hospital in Hattiesburg. Services will be is Saturday, Sept. 7, at 11a.m. at Sun Light Baptist Church in Laurel. Visitation is from 10-11 a.m. at the church. Burial will be in Sun Light  Baptist Church Cemetery. Young's Fu…

Monday, September 02, 2019

Brenna Grace Clark, 15, of Laurel passed away Friday, Aug., 30, 2019. Visitation was Sunday. The  funeral will be Monday, Sept. 2, at 10 a.m. at Temple Baptist Church with burial to follow in Spring Hill Baptist Church Cemetery. Brother Cliff Jenkins will officiate. Colonial Chapel Funeral H…

Friday, August 30, 2019

Justin R. Mack, 26, of Laurel died Tuesday, Aug. 27, in Waynesboro. Funeral services will be Saturday, Aug. 31, at Sunlight M.B. Church in the Hoy community, with burial in Nora Davis cemetery. Visitation will be 1 p.m. until service time. Brown Mortuary Inc. is in charge of the arrangements.

Wednesday, August 28, 2019

Glenda Jean Marsh, 71, of Ellisville died Friday, Aug. 23, 2019 at University Hospital in Jackson. Funeral services will be at 2 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 31, at Spring Hill Missionary Baptist Church in Ellisville. Burial will be in Dubose Street Cemetery in Ellisville. Viewing will be held from 1…

Tuesday, August 27, 2019

Ms. Eddie Lee Edmonson, 89, of Laurel died Sunday, Aug. 25, 2019 at Mississippi State Veterans Home in Collins. Funeral service will be Saturday, Aug. 31, at 11 a.m. at Mount Olive M.B. Church with burial in Oak Hill No. 2 Cemetery. Visitation will be from 10:00 a.m. until service time at th…

Amos J. Edwards, 81, of Pachuta died Friday, Aug. 23, 2019 at his residence. Funeral services will be Friday, Aug. 30, at 11 a.m. at East Baptist Church in Pachuta with burial in the church cemetery. Visitation will be Thursday from 6-8 p.m. at the church. Brown Mortuary Inc. is in charge of…

Friday, August 23, 2019

Tasha A. Ross, 38, of Louin died at her residence on Tuesday, Aug. 20, 2019. Visitation will be 6-8 p.m. Wednesday at Jerusalem M.B. Church in Louin and the funeral will be at 2 p.m. Thursday at the church, followed by burial in the church cemetery. Rev. Harley Ray Milsap will officiate. Bay…

Thursday, August 22, 2019

Debsie Wilson, 72, of Taylorsville died on Aug. 21, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center in Laurel. Graveside service will be Saturday, Aug. 24, at 10 a.m. at Pine Valley M. B. Church in Taylorsville. Burial will be in Pine Valley Cemetery. Young's Funeral Home is in charge of the a…

Tuesday, August 20, 2019

Bernice Houston, 91, of Laurel died Monday, Aug. 19, 2019 at her residence. Funeral services will be Saturday, Aug. 24, at 11 a.m. at Queens Chapel M.B. Church with burial in Oak Hill No. 2 cemetery. Visitation will be from 10 a.m. until service time at the church. Brown Mortuary, Inc. is in…

Christine Rogers, 89, of Laurel died Wednesday, Aug. 14, 2019 at St. Dominic Hospital in Jackson. Funeral services will be Saturday, Aug. 24, at 2 p.m. at The Church of Christian Unity with burial in Oak Hill No. 2 cemetery. Visitation will be 1 p.m. until service time at the church. Brown M…

Monday, August 19, 2019

Willie Mae Jordan, 60, of Laurel died Monday, Aug.12, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center in Laurel. Funeral services were Sunday  in the chapel of Brown Mortuary with burial in McCullum cemetery in the Benson Community.Brown Mortuary, Inc. is in charge of the arrangements.

Willie Ray Clanton, 69, of Ellisville died on Aug. 13, 2019 in Laurel. Services will be Saturday, Aug. 24, at 2 p.m. at Mount Pleasant M.B. Church in Sanderville. Visitation will be from noon to 2 p.m. at the church with burial in Oak Hill No. 2. Young's Funeral Home is in charge of the arra…

Thursday, August 15, 2019

Timothy Ladale Hatten, 37, of Taylorsville died on Aug. 12, 2019 at Forrest General Hospital in Hattiesburg. Service will be Saturday, Aug. 17, at 11 a.m. at Oak Grove M. B. Church in Taylorsville. Visitation is from 10-11 a.m. at the church. Burial will be in Oak Grove Cemetery. Young's Fun…

Phillip Cooley Sr., 66, of Laurel died Tuesday, Aug. 6, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center in Laurel. Funeral services will be Saturday, Aug. 17, at 2 p.m. at Sweet Hope M.B. Church in Laurel with burial in Oak Hill No. 2 cemetery. Visitation will be from noon until service time S…

Melanie Elise Odom, 41, of Bay Springs passed away Wednesday, Aug.14, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center. Visitation will be Friday, Aug. 16, from 5-8 p.m. at Colonial Chapel Funeral Home of Bay Springs and again on Saturday from 9-11 a.m. at First Baptist Church of Bay Springs. F…

Tuesday, August 13, 2019

Mrs. Geneva J. Herring passed from this life on Monday, Aug. 12, 2019. She was born Nov. 5, 1931 in Smith County. A graveside service and internment will be at Hickory Grove Cemetery in Laurel at 10 a.m. Thursday. Ellisville Funeral Home is in charge of the arrangements. Minister Shannon Slo…

Friday, August 09, 2019

Little Zyion Malik Thigpen, infant, born July 12, 2019 died Aug. 6, 2019 at Forrest General Hospital in Hattiesburg. Funeral services will be Sunday at 11 a.m. in the chapel of Brown Mortuary with burial in Oak Hill No. 2 cemetery. Brown Mortuary, Inc. is in charge of the arrangements.

Thursday, August 08, 2019

Willie Eugene Willis, 90, of Marrero, La., died Saturday, Aug. 3, 2019 at his residence. Funeral services will be Saturday, Aug. 10, at 11 a.m. at John the Baptist M.B. Church in Pachuta with burial in the church cemetery. Visitation will be 9:30 a.m. until service time at the church. Brown …

Cindy Ann Cole, 48, of Laurel, died Tuesday, Aug. 6, 2019 at South Central Regional Medical Center. Funeral services will be at 2 p.m. Saturday, Aug.10, at Wesley Chapel United Methodist Church. Burial will be in Nora Davis Cemetery.Viewing will be from 1-2 p.m. Saturday at the church. Chape…

George Lee Hosey Jr., 42, of Laurel died Sunday July, 28 2019 at his residence. Funeral services will be Saturday, Aug.10, at 2 p.m. at Christ's Church with burial in Oak Hill No. 2 cemetery. Visitation will be noon until service time at the church. Brown Mortuary Inc. is in charge of the ar…

Sunday, August 04, 2019

Exel Aultman, 87, of Jones County passed away Friday, Aug., 2, 2019 at the Lamar Health and Rehab in Lumberton. She was born Monday, March 14, 1932 in Jones County. Visitation will be Monday, Aug. 5, from 10-11:30 a.m. at Ellisville Funeral Home in Ellisville with funeral services to follow …

Tuesday, July 30, 2019

Larry Glenn Harkless, 63, of Mobile, Ala., and formerly of Laurel, died Saturday, July 27, 2019 in Mobile. Funeral services will be at 2 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 3, at Second Allen AME Church in Laurel. Burial will be in Oak Hill No. 2 Cemetery in Laurel. Visitation will be from 6-8 p.m. Friday a…